Meeting the Mentor

Finally I have the opportunity to write about meeting my mentor teacher.  I think it is going to be a great prac – long – but great.  I found out after meeting my mentor teacher that she only works 4 days a week – therefore the school had to contact USQ to see if I was able to complete my prac over a slightly extended amount of time!  So my 3 week prac has now become an almost 5 week prac!!!  It goes a little like this:

Week 1 – 4 days (Monday to Thursday)

Week 2 – 3 days (Monday, Tuesday and Thursday – Wednesday is our Show holiday)

Week 3 – 4 days (Monday to Thursday)

Week 4 – 3 days (Tuesday to Thursday – Monday is a public holiday)

Week 5 – 1 day (Monday)

After having said that, my mentor teacher has already consider some lessons that I would be able to plan and teach, with more of this to be discussed during our non contact time on Monday afternoon.  Also when I commented that I would need to include ICT where possible in my lessons she was very excited.  She admitted to having received a SMART Whiteboard in her little classroom (small Special Needs setting) and had not used it a lot as she is not sure how to use it.  She would like to get it worked out though and we will do this together – that’s a bit exciting!  She also suggested that she has been wanting to start an edStudio for her students and that this would be a great thing to do as well.  She had a few other ideas as well with possibly incorporating ICT in lessons.  They are lucky enough to have about 7 or 8 iPads for use with the special needs students, which unfortunately haven’t been used a lot.  It will be interesting to see how I will go about planning lessons – at least 2 of these may be on Social Skills!! I think I will be spending the next few days trying to find out a little more about incorporating ICT in my lessons.  

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

